Advertising Disclosure

Full Review Keeper Security Review

4
6,4
There are customers who found Keeper Security Review on our site rated the product.
0
0
0
0
0
Customer Comments
  • Klaus W.
    16/11/2020

    Keeper is an ingenious password manager with many practical functions and high security.

    Manfred Berner
    15/11/2020

    I am completely convinced of Keeper. The purchase has already paid for itself several times over.

    Christine Droste
    14/11/2020

    Finally, I can manage my passwords in a central secure place and generate new secure passwords at the touch of a button.

    Niklas L.
    13/11/2020

    In my opinion Keeper does a lot of things right and has almost no weaknesses.

    Sun Bernard
    12/11/2020

    Excellent password manager with very good price-performance ratio.

  • Kevin Lutteroth
    11/11/2020

    I like Keeper extraordinarily well!

    Hertha Görtz
    10/11/2020

    I use both the desktop app and the mobile iOS app from Keeper and I am more than satisfied with both programs.

    Victor Henfling
    09/11/2020

    For me and my family the inexpensive family version and Keeper is an absolutely successful thing and gives us a secure feeling.

    Xaver B.
    08/11/2020

    Innovative, visually appealing design, easy to use and absolutely safe!

    Florentin Nareyek
    07/11/2020

    This is my idea of a good password manager.

  • Roland Engels
    06/11/2020

    Keeper is a successful password manager with many functions and an easy handling.

    Leon R.
    05/11/2020

    Quite good password mangerwith some minor weaknesses.

    Emilia Brandl
    04/11/2020

    In my opinion, the software is only rock solid and does not stand out from the crowd.

    Julius Weinert
    03/11/2020

    I don't like Keeper so far, maybe I just need more time to try it out.

    Rüdiger E.
    02/11/2020

    Have tested Keeper and uninstalled it after 2 weeks. Somehow I did not get really comfortable with the program.

Rate this VPN Provider
Customer Comments
  • Klaus W.
    16/11/2020

    Keeper is an ingenious password manager with many practical functions and high security.

    Manfred Berner
    15/11/2020

    I am completely convinced of Keeper. The purchase has already paid for itself several times over.

    Christine Droste
    14/11/2020

    Finally, I can manage my passwords in a central secure place and generate new secure passwords at the touch of a button.

    Niklas L.
    13/11/2020

    In my opinion Keeper does a lot of things right and has almost no weaknesses.

    Sun Bernard
    12/11/2020

    Excellent password manager with very good price-performance ratio.

  • Kevin Lutteroth
    11/11/2020

    I like Keeper extraordinarily well!

    Hertha Görtz
    10/11/2020

    I use both the desktop app and the mobile iOS app from Keeper and I am more than satisfied with both programs.

    Victor Henfling
    09/11/2020

    For me and my family the inexpensive family version and Keeper is an absolutely successful thing and gives us a secure feeling.

    Xaver B.
    08/11/2020

    Innovative, visually appealing design, easy to use and absolutely safe!

    Florentin Nareyek
    07/11/2020

    This is my idea of a good password manager.

  • Roland Engels
    06/11/2020

    Keeper is a successful password manager with many functions and an easy handling.

    Leon R.
    05/11/2020

    Quite good password mangerwith some minor weaknesses.

    Emilia Brandl
    04/11/2020

    In my opinion, the software is only rock solid and does not stand out from the crowd.

    Julius Weinert
    03/11/2020

    I don't like Keeper so far, maybe I just need more time to try it out.

    Rüdiger E.
    02/11/2020

    Have tested Keeper and uninstalled it after 2 weeks. Somehow I did not get really comfortable with the program.

Overview

Keeper Security Inc. was founded in 2009 and specializes in cloud computing, mobile device technology and cyber security software. The IT company employs over 145 people at its sites in Chicago (USA) and Cork (Ireland).

Keeper generates secure passwords and stores them in a digital safe. Passwords, financial information and other data are stored using 256-bit AES encryption. Access is only possible with a secure master password and can be additionally protected with two-factor authentication. Keeper can assess the security of the stored passwords, generate passwords up to 51 characters long and fill out forms. Access data can be imported from other password managers and other programs.

The password manager Keeper is available as a desktop app and web application. Additionally, there is a browser extension and a mobile app for smartphones (Android, iOS and Windows). Keeper is available as a version for individuals, families and companies and can be tested free of charge for up to 30 days. Users can access 24-hour support via the software and the website.

Performance data - Keeper Security Review

FeatureValue
Password protection
Automatic backup/
Payment details encryption
Form feature
Compatibility
User-friendliness
Pros
  • Secure generation and storage of passwords
  • Easy setup, intuitive operation
  • 30-day trial version
Cons
  • Browser extension with marginal functionality
  • Additional packages subject to payment
  • Somewhat annoying advertisements

Prices and conditions

Unlimited
$34.99
30%
$24.49
BEST OFFER
For Free
No discount
$0.00
Family
$74.99
30%
$52.49

Overview

Keeper Security Inc. was founded in 2009 and specializes in cloud computing, mobile device technology and cyber security software. The IT company employs over 145 people at its sites in Chicago (USA) and Cork (Ireland).

Keeper generates secure passwords and stores them in a digital safe. Passwords, financial information and other data are stored using 256-bit AES encryption. Access is only possible with a secure master password and can be additionally protected with two-factor authentication. Keeper can assess the security of the stored passwords, generate passwords up to 51 characters long and fill out forms. Access data can be imported from other password managers and other programs.

The password manager Keeper is available as a desktop app and web application. Additionally, there is a browser extension and a mobile app for smartphones (Android, iOS and Windows). Keeper is available as a version for individuals, families and companies and can be tested free of charge for up to 30 days. Users can access 24-hour support via the software and the website.

Installation & Setup

Installation and setup are quick and easy. Keeper’s desktop app can be downloaded for free from the official website. After a double click, users simply click on “Install” and wait a moment. Afterwards the Keeper login screen appears automatically. Users enter their email address, create a secure master password and select a security question.

A few moments later the password manager is ready for use. Additionally Keeper can be integrated into the standard browser. The multilingual and modern user interface makes it easy to use. All functions are self-explanatory and users can configure the password manager individually. Existing access data can be imported into the password manager with a simple mouse click.

Password Generator

The password manager Keeper generates secure passwords for websites and programs at the push of a button. The newly created passwords can be up to 51 characters long and are therefore particularly secure. Thanks to the configuration options, the created passwords meet the most diverse requirements. All newly generated passwords are automatically stored in an encrypted data safe and can be accessed, adjusted or deleted at any time. A line of varying length in green, yellow or red immediately shows users how secure the stored passwords are.

Keeper’s password security is based on the proven Zero Knowledge Principle. This means that no unencrypted information is stored on the provider’s servers. All data is encrypted locally on the user’s computer. Password generation is possible both in the desktop app and in the mobile app. Unfortunately, the browser extension KeeperFill does not have this function and focuses exclusively on the automatic filling in of forms.

The Autofill function of Keeper is particularly practical. The password manager not only fills out form data on web pages or in programs automatically. Users can set the autofill function individually and adapt it to their needs. Keeper enters the stored passwords in the correct fields and also fills them with additional information and data. Users can set when and what information they receive from Keeper and can even muzzle the program. In this case the users are left alone by Keeper and do not receive any information about the forms.

Storage of passwords

During initial setup, users can import all stored passwords and other credentials from their browsers, other programs and competing password managers into Keeper’s secure data vault. A manual import or export is of course also possible later. Thanks to drag-and-drop, passwords and other data can be easily imported from the .csv files. All stored passwords, access data and sensitive information are stored exclusively with 265 bit strong AES encryption and cannot be retrieved without entering the master password.

In the security settings, users can specify how many PBKDF2 iterations (1,000 to 100,000) Keeper should perform during data encryption. In addition to the master password, users can protect their data safe with two-factor authentication (2FA). Keeper is compatible with most apps such as RSA SecurID, Google Authenticator and Duo Security, and even has its own Authenticator app. The mobile apps have the same user interface with the same basic features. This means the data can be accessed with all compatible devices. In addition, users can take additional security precautions on their mobile devices. In addition to the practical enrollment via fingerprint, Keeper even supports face recognition and enrollment via a Smartwatch.

With the secure master password, users log in not only in the desktop app or the mobile Keeper app. They can use a browser on any computer with Internet access and log in to Keeper’s Web Vault from anywhere. This allows users to access their stored credentials from any device.

Special Additional Functions

With most password managers, forgetful users have a big problem: If they do not remember their unique master password, access is permanently blocked and cannot be reopened. Keeper takes a much more user-friendly approach: During setup, users must create and answer a security question. If they forget their master password, they can reset it by answering the security question and receiving an email confirmation.

Secure and convenient: If Keeper is used on an Android or iOS device, users can log in using their fingerprint (touch ID) if desired. Practical: The stored data records can be shared with other users by e-mail. Other intelligent functions, such as BreachWatch, which protects against misuse of login data, or the 10 GB cloud, are unfortunately hidden behind payment barriers.

Ease of use & compatibility

Keeper can be used in several languages and has a clear, modern and easy to understand interface. This makes the password manager also very suitable for everyone. The desktop app can be downloaded free of charge for Windows, Macintosh and Linux computers (installation via RPM or DEB package). The software works with both 32-bit and 64-bit operating systems. The browser extension KeeperFill is compatible with most browsers.

 

Device

Keeper

Windows (7,8,10)

desktop app

Mac OS

desktop app

Linux

desktop app

iOS

iOS 10.0 or watchOS 2.0

Android

5.0 or higher

Windows Phone

Yes

Blackberry

Nook

Yes

Kindle

Yes

Game consoles

The password manager can be downloaded and installed on all compatible devices in a few minutes. After the easy to understand login, Keeper takes users by the hand and helps them with the initial setup. The Web Vault can be accessed from a desktop computer or mobile device. To login, users only need their email address, master password and 2FA (if enabled).

Help & Support

Keeper Security’s customer support can be reached by users around the clock and every day. Contact can be established both via the web application and the desktop app. In the support center, users can describe their concerns in peace and receive a prompt response. In addition, the Support Center offers easy-to-understand short instructions, an FAQ area and a free question and help webinar. The Keeper Password Manager has been awarded by several independent experts and various websites and has been rated good to very good by numerous users. PCMag UK named Keeper the best tech product of 2019.

Conclusion

Keeper is a secure, reliable and easy-to-use password manager for Windows, Linux and Macintosh computers. The mobile app works on almost all devices and can be unlocked using fingerprint or face recognition. Users can access their stored data from any browser via the convenient Web Vault. Keeper can be downloaded for free and tested for up to 30 days without risk. The password manager is intuitive to use, generates secure passwords and manages all access data in an encrypted vault. Without master password and optional 2FA no access is possible. Especially successful are the individually configurable autofill function and the emergency reset by security question.

User online
347 User online